How to deactivate Facebook account in 2020

Well, if you have decided to quit being connected online and stay away from the social media world for time being then the best way is to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily.

In this post, you will learn stepwise, how to temporarily disable your Facebook account. Deactivating Facebook account doesn't mean that you have deleted your account. It is just a temporary disabling exercise to stay away from the people you had connected online.

Whenever you wish to come back and be connected then you can simply reactivate your FB account by following the simple steps.

After the deactivation process, your friends won't be able to search you on Fb, see your timeline messages, images, or any information relevant to you on Facebook.

The deactivation process is instant and it immediately notifies you through linked email Id about your account status as soon as you make any changes in your FB account.


Steps to deactivate your Facebook account are as follows

  1. Login to Facebook account
  2.  Go to Settings by clicking on the black down small arrow at the top right corner of the page
  3.  Click on your Facebook information at the top left of the page.
  4. Select Deactivate and Deletion 
  5. Select Deactivation and click on continue to deactivation 
  6. Enter the password and you have successfully deactivated your account.

Since there were two options on the screen and you would like to delete your account then select Delete your account instead. Enter the password and in the same manner, you can delete your Facebook account.

Steps to deactivate your FB account on the phone app

  1. Open your Facebook app on your phone
  2. Click on the 3 small vertical bars on the top right of the phone screen
  3. Go to Settings and Privacy
  4. Tap on Settings
  5. Go to Personal information
  6. Tap on Manage account> tap on deactivate 
  7. Enter the password and account is successfully deactivate

What's so interesting?

Before you go away from Facebook temporarily, you can download your information from your account and keep the copy with you.

Steps to download your information from Facebook

  1. Login to Facebook account
  2.  Go to Settings by clicking on the black down small arrow at the top right corner of the page
  3.  Click on your Facebook information at the top left of the page.
  4. Go to Download your information. Click on it
  5. A new interface will open> Select the file type in which you want to download the information of your Fb account from the drop-down in format( JSON or HTML) 
  6. Click on Create file 
  7. Download it to your system.
You can perform the same action on your phone app to download the information from your Facebook account to your cell phone.

Well, deletion and deactivation are completely your choices however keeping the information in your system is always a good habit. 

 

Previous
Next Post »